Yoga and Astrology: The relationship between them

The idea of ​​comparing these two disciplines is not at all arbitrary, in fact, in the Vedic cosmogony of India they have always been linked. Both Yoga and Astrology pursue one objective: To better understand the Nature of oneself and the environment that surrounds it to free oneself from Ignorance, understanding the functioning of consciousness in order to cancel the continuous fluctuations of the mind that make us live the vital experience as karma or Law of action-reaction matters. If you live in the USA, you can consult an Online Astrologer in the USA to know more about the objective.

Astrology raises through the birth chart the map of how to understand, anticipate, anticipate or act with caution, knowing that these fluctuations of the mind translate into the meaning of the planets, how they aspect each other, under what sign and in which house or area of ​​specific experience it can be represented.

Let’s first see what Yoga is:

The renowned Yogi Ramakrishna said: “The mind is like a mad monkey stung by a scorpion”

According to the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, Yoga is “Chitta Vrtti Nirodah”, The cessation of mental fluctuations. This goal is not easy to achieve, it can be achieved through the discipline of constant practice and control of the breath (Pranayama).

The goals of life according to the Vedic tradition are:

  • Dharma: The mission that when executed that naturally produces wealth
  • Artha: The achievements or riches, which allow to achieve all the pleasures of life
  • Kama: Pleasure that in the end produces satiety and desire for liberation
  • Moksha: Liberation from the cycle of reincarnations.

With which, it could be said that we are immersed in a cycle of Dharma-Karma in case of not reaching Moksha, which is usually usual. So when you fulfill your Dharma (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius) you get riches, when you get riches (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn) you get pleasure. When obtaining pleasure (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius) one realizes that it is ephemeral and must deliver it (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces) in order to return to the cycle of life.

The goal of Yoga is Self-Realization or Moksha.

All the techniques used in Yoga such as Asanas (Postures), Pranayamas (Breathing exercises), Kriyas (cleaning), and Meditation among others, are focused on purging our physical body so that consciousness can approach this goal.

However, there are currently many approaches to this practice, from the most frivolous, such as a gym session between the Zumba and Pilates class, through the classic practice of Malavya Yoga or Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga with deeper objectives such as respiratory control and mastery of certain postures to obtain physical and mental benefits, even purely spiritual practices such as Bhakti Yoga (Yoga of Devotion) in which the only thing that matters is the connection with God. As a first step, it is recommended that you give Malavya a try. If you do this consistently, in no time you will get the Malavya Yoga effects.

In any case, a proper practice of Yoga helps to improve the quality of life by balancing Body and Mind. The Chakras are energy centers not perceptible by the senses that are associated with the Endocrine Glands, and Yoga affects these centers to balance and activate them.

Although Hinduism and Buddhism embrace Yoga as a mechanism to achieve self-realization, Yoga is not a religion but a spiritual practice that does not require any religious belief. Astrology, like Yoga, is a discipline that studies the relationship between the main stars of the solar system and events on Earth.